East Nashville-based songwriter, Michael James Wheeler, originally hails from a small town in southern Vermont. He started touring as a teenager with his first garage band, playing mostly psychedelic rock. He then joined another hometown band, Gold Town, drawing him full-bore into bluegrass & honky tonk. In 2013, Wheeler began touring full-time with Crying Wolf. After the duo disbanded, he joined the The Hardcore Grass in Nashville. Fronted by Chris Henry (Peter Rowan Band), this was a masterclass in traditional bluegrass tenor singing. All the while, Wheeler kept writing, gearing up to take the leap into a solo career. Soon he was living on the road.

Wheeler’s original catalog is vast. From traditional & progressive roots, to indie, folk, & glammy, garagey songs that owe as much to his adolescence spent obsessing over Neil Young as they do his contemporary heroes — Ty Segall, Kurt Vile, Aaron Lee Tasjan, Susto, & Cass McCombs. All of these influences, & the years spent cutting his teeth in bands & by himself on the road — are present in Wheeler’s debut LP, Roll Another Dime (Pacific Records). Produced by Grammy-winning engineer, Dark Star Orchestra rhythm guitarist, & longtime mentor to Wheeler, Rob Eaton Sr., the album includes George Jackson, Adam Chaffins, & Sierra Ferrell among its cast. (Courtesy of Pacific Records)